Sep 25, 2023  
Rensselaer Catalog 2009-2010 
Rensselaer Catalog 2009-2010 [Archived Catalog]

Named Professorships

Rensselaer has several professorships honoring individuals or institutions for whom they are named, as well as honoring those who occupy them. These named professorships are listed below with their incumbents. Dates in parentheses indicate the year the professorship was established.

Ray Palmer Baker Distinguished Professorship (1997)

Toh-Ming Lu

Richard Baruch M.D. Career Development Professor (2006)


Clay P. Bedford, Sr. ‘24 Endowed Chair Professorship (2003)


Howard N. Blitman ‘50 P.E. Career Development Professor in Engineering (2004)

Satish Ukkusuri

Irene and Robert Bozzone ‘55 Assistant Professor of Management and Technology (1995)


Ann and John H. Broadbent Jr. ‘59 Senior Constellation Professor, Biocatalysis and Metabolic Engineering (2003)

Robert J. Linhardt

Warren H. Bruggeman ‘46 and Pauline Urban Bruggeman Distinguished Associate Professor (1995)


Henry Burlage Chaired Professor in Engineering (2005)

Robert Hull

Dorothy and Fred Chau ‘71 Career Development Constellation Professor in Biocatalysis and Metabolic Engineering (2007)


Constellation Professor, Biocomputation and Bioinformatics (2005)

Angel E. Garcia

Constellation Professor, Biocomputation and Bioinformatics (2007)

George Makhatadze

Constellation Professor, Future Chips (2004)

Shawn-Yu Lin

Constellation Professor, Tetherless World (2006)

James A. Hendler

Constellation Professor, Tetherless World (2007)

Constellation Professor, Tetherless World (2008)

Deborah L. McGuinness

Peter Fox

John A. Clark and Edward T. Crossan Professor of Engineering (1974)


Thomas and Constance D’Ambra Professor in Synthetic Organic Chemistry (2006)


David M. Darrin ‘40 Senior Endowed Chair at the Darrin Fresh Water Institute (2006)


Margaret A. Darrin Distinguished Professor in Applied Mathematics (1981)


James L. Decker ‘45 Endowed Chair in Aerospace Engineering (2007)


Amos Eaton Professor of Computer Science (1991)


Ford Foundation Professor of Mathematics (1967)

Joyce R. McLaughlin

Frank and Lillian Gilbreth Professor in the Technologies of Management (1969)

Albert S. Paulson

Alma and H. Erwin Hale ‘30 Teaching Professorship of Humanities and Social Sciences (1991)

Linda L. Layne

Edward P. Hamilton Distinguished Educator (1975)

Edward P. Hamilton Distinguished Professor of Science Education (2009)

Joseph G. Ecker

Frank Spear

William Howard Hart Professor of Rational and Technical Mechanics (1883)


Edward E. Hood Jr. Professorship (1989)


John Tod Horton ‘52 Professor of Materials Engineering (1971)

David Duquette

Robert W. Hunt Professor of Materials Science and Engineering (1938)

Richard W. Siegel

Institute Professor (1994)


Institute Professor of Engineering (1991)

Ricardo Dobry

Institute Professor of Nuclear Engineering (1981)


Institute Professor of Science (1995)

E. Bruce Watson

Institute Professor of Science (1988)


Institute Professor of Science and Technology (1983)


Howard P. Isermann ‘42 Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering (1989)

Jonathan Dordick

Samuel A. Johnson ‘37 and Elisabeth C. Johnson Professor in Engineering (1990)

Mark S. Shephard

J. Erik Jonsson ‘22 Distinguished Professor (1997)

Xi-Cheng Zhang

Kodak Associate Professor in Environmental Engineering (1991)


Gail and Jeffrey L. Kodosky ‘70 Chair in Physics, Information Technology, and Entrepreurship

Shengbai Zhang

Gail and Jeffrey L. Kodosky ‘70 Career Development Chair


Frederic R. Kolleck ‘52 Career Development Professor in Chemistry (2008)


Louis Ellsworth Laflin Professor of English (1917)

Merrill D. Whitburn

P.K. Lashmet Career Development Chair (2008)

Ravi Kane

Ruth and Augustine Marusi ‘36 Professorship in Global Business Management (2006)

Jonathan Story

Elaine S. and Jack S. Parker Chair in Engineering

Shekhar Garde

Thomas Phelan Chair in Humanities and Social Sciences (1995)

Langdon Winner

Rayleigh Chair for Theoretical Physics (1962)


Rosalind and John J. Redfern Jr. ‘33 Professor of Engineering (1981)

Jacob Fish

Eliza Ricketts Foundation Professor of Mathematics (1937)

Donald A. Drew

Virginia and Lloyd W. Rittenhouse ‘35 Teaching Professor of Humanities and Social Sciences (2004)

John M. Gowdy

Patricia W. and C. Sheldon Roberts ‘48 Chaired Professor in Solid State Electronics (1991)

Michael S. Shur

Russell Sage Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering (1938)

Georges Belfort

Claire and Roland Schmitt Distinguished Professorship (2007)

Boleslaw Szymanski

Alan Paul Schulz Career Development Professor of Chemistry (2004)


Philip Sporn Professor of Electric Power Engineering (1962)

Travelstead Institute Chair


Gwo-Ching Wang

William Weightman Walker Professor of Chemistry (1905)

Linda McGown

William Weightman Walker Professor of Polymer Engineering (1905)

Steven Cramer

Wellfleet Career Development Constellation Professor, Future Chips (2004)

Christian M. Wetzel

Wellfleet Senior Constellation Professor, Future Chips (2003)

E. Fred Schubert

Cary L. Wellington Professor of Management of Technology (1988)

Iftekhar Hasan

Dean R. Wellington ‘83 Teaching Professorship in Management (1990)


Yamada Corporation Professor (2001)